Posted by: Don Linnen | 31 March 2017

The Next Hill

A rare ride last weekend with my buddy, Mark, reminded me that the second hill is always harder than the first. That first hill felt so good taken early in our ride – as good as a hill can feel on a road bike.

Don’t get me wrong. This was a ride in the mostly flat lands of Texas. Calling something a hill here is often relative. But for me it was a hill. And it was a pleasure to climb – the first time.

That first climb was so good, we decided to do it again. About half way up the next hill my old body reminded me that I’d not been training for this. Through the anguish of a pounding heart and heaving lungs at the top of the climb my brain reminded me: ya gotta train for the next hill.

The second hill’s always harder than the first. The next hill is always harder than the last. There is always a next hill.

Prepare for it. You may eventually hit the wall on some next hill, but it won’t be as early as those who don’t or won’t prepare.

And when you’re physically spent, your mental attitude – your intestinal fortitude – will sustain you. And when that runs out, dig into your soul for something deeper. 

Romans 15:5.  Train for the next hill.  Philippians 4:13.  Hydrate and repeat.

Leave a Reply

Categories

