Posted by: Don Linnen | 29 August 2015

Doubt

My answers are not always quick. My comeback to the sharp critic is not always immediate. My response to the snarky comment is rarely clever. My defense of what I know to be true is not always astute.

It may seem to the skeptic – staring me down during my delayed response – that they are “winning” the point. That they have created doubt in my mind about my own position. That I may be thinking that I am wrong.

Doubt is not always a sign that a man is wrong; it may be a sign that he is thinking.

Oswald Chambers

Conversely, the skeptic may be expressing doubt in his own strident way. That means he is thinking.

The truth really is out there. Not just “a truth” from a point of view, but the truth. It can be found and sometimes even understood.

Thinking is a good thing. Doubt is not a bad thing.

Keep thinking amidst the doubt.

Responses

  1. […] wrote about doubt last August. That was after a moment with a deep skeptic – probably one of my children. Doubt must […]

  2. […] Doubt, disbelief, more doubt, and now uncertainty. A common thread has appeared in my titles over the last nine months. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

