Posted by: Don Linnen | 23 January 2015

Two Questions

Will I do it? Will it make a difference? Only the first question gets answered for now.

In October I joined the staff of East-West Ministries to write grant proposals and establish a planned giving program. East-West exists to send followers of Jesus to some pretty remote places where people have not heard the good news of the Gospel.

In some of those places Jesus is thought to be an aspiring third basemen for the Dodgers in the Caribbean Winter League. In the more unreached or highly restricted communities there are some who have never heard of Jesus – not even heard the name.

It’s all fine and dandy for me to raise money to support missionaries called to these spiritually dark places. I don’t need to go there. I spent a year in Southeast Asia in the 70’s (not as a missionary). I don’t need to go back. I’m a homeboy. I don’t need to spend 15 hours on a wide body sitting in economy. More significantly, there are people much better equipped than I to talk about Jesus in some place that doesn’t offer a no whip, decaf, mocha frappe.

My whining complete, I soon leave for South Asia with a small team to learn AND to teach for 10 days. With an interpreter and a few others I’ll visit some villages outside the big cities to share the good news. I’ll also help with stories, skits, craft projects, and music in children’s programs in the area. Talk about God calling the unequipped…

This is a big, BIG stretch for me. It’s way out of my comfort zone.

Will it make a difference? God only knows.

Leave a Reply

Categories

