Posted by: Don Linnen | 30 October 2012

Victory

It’s just a week away from our next presidential election. The contest seems more bitterly fought each time. Was it this way decades ago? Maybe.

At the end of WWI, Winston Churchill repeated: “In victory, magnanimity; in peace, goodwill.”  Not everyone felt that way in 1919 after 16 million had died and over 20 million were hurt by bayonets, bullets, bombs, or poison gas.

Churchill was on the winning side, but few on his side agreed with him. He was a thought leader.

The effects of our upcoming elections – though very significant – will not be nearly as physically devastating as a world war.

Change will be significant. Change may be hard. Will the victors be magnanimous? Will the losers be gracious? Can we find peace and goodwill within our nation?

This past Sunday in church, our pastor reminded us that getting angry at someone is like drinking poison to kill that person. I’ve heard it before. I must be reminded more often than I like.

The closing hymn was Be Still, My Soul sung to the tune of Finlandia. My father taught me to love the tune. It was played in his memory at our wedding 15 years ago. I have come to love the words.

Be still, my soul:the Lord is on my side; Bear patiently the cross of grief and pain; Leave to your God to order and provide; In every change He faithful will remain. Be still, my soul: my best, my heavenly friend through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

It’s good to be still when we don’t get our way. It’s good to believe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

